Engagement Rings & Wedding Rings

At Avinas you can create the engagement ring of your dreams! Tell us a little more about your project using the questionnaire below and we will contact you to help you make your dreams come true.

If you don't know how to answer these questions, don't panic! We are here to help you.
Feel free to take a look at our guide on diamonds to make the choice that will suit you best.

How to choose your diamond?

You want a setting with a diamond but you don’t know how to choose it? Each diamond is unique and it is important to know what makes it different from another to make sure you make the best choice. Here are some elements to understand the characteristics of a diamond and what will determine its appearance and price.

With the guide below, you will learn everything about the 4Cs. The 4Cs are indicators that make it possible to evaluate a diamond and classify it. This is a universal method that applies all over the world and allows you to always know what type of diamond you are buying and what is the expected result.

In addition, at Avinas we like transparency. Each diamond larger than 0.5 carat is provided with its GIA (Gemological Institute of America) certificate.

The carat is the unit of weight of the diamond. Depending on the number of carats, you know the approximate size of your diamond. But this criterion alone does not determine the size of your diamond or its value, since the final result will also depend on the cut of the diamond. This means that a very well cut diamond with a small carat may be worth more than a diamond with a higher carat but which would be less well cut.

It is therefore important to combine the carat weight with the other criteria of the 4Cs.

Here are some examples:

This is one of the most important characteristics in the choice of a diamond, along with the cut and it corresponds to the absence of coloration inside the diamond. The more colourless the diamond is, the higher its quality will be.

GIA certified diamonds are classified from D to Z, D being the most colourless colour and Z being a brownish colour. All diamonds from D to Z are so-called “colourless” diamonds, in order to distinguish them from the rarer coloured diamonds, which are subject to a separate classification.

At Avinas, we work at least with diamonds classified D-E-F or G-H-I and we can of course use other qualities according to your wishes.

Here are some examples:

This criterion indicates the purity of the diamond. This is the least important criterion in the choice of a diamond since imperfections are often imperceptible to the naked eye. And it should be noted that if flawless diamonds exist, they are extremely rare!

We distinguish the so-called surface imperfections, inclusions, i.e. the imperfections contained inside the diamond.

The purity of a diamond will be classified according to the scale below. At Avinas we work mainly with VS diamonds, which means that the imperfections are located in the crown and cannot be seen without enlarging this area. VS classified diamonds are very good value for money and are also called “Pure diamonds to the eye” because their inclusions are indeed imperceptible to the naked eye.

However, here is a diagram to help you understand what purity means.

The Cut corresponds to the cutting of the diamond, i.e. the way the diamond was cut . This is one of the most important criteria to consider because the better your diamond has been cut, the better it will shine and reflect light. And at Avinas, we love it when our diamonds play with the sun’s reflections! To learn more about how a diamond is cut, here are some additional instructions and diagrams.

Select your currency
CHF Swiss franc
EUR Euro